Flash Flood Watch, Severe Thunderstorm Watch issued for our area

Flash Flood Watch, Severe Thunderstorm Watch issued for our area

June 18, 2017 02:16 PM

Update: The National Weather Service has issued a severe thunderstorm watch for our area. 

This watch was put into effect at 1:35 p.m. and is expected to last until 9:00 p.m. Sunday night. Counties affected by this watch are Monroe, Ontario, Livingston, Genesee, Wyoming, Wayne, Orleans, Yates, Allegany, Steuben, Chautauqua, Jefferson, Schuyler, Tompkins, Cattaraugus, Erie, Lewis, Niagara, Seneca, Cayuga, Onondaga, and Oswego.

Advertisement – Content Continues Below

The National Weather Service says that a flash flood watch is in effect for multiple counties in our area.

The N.W.A. says thunderstorms are expected during the late afternoon and evening in Western and Central New York on Sunday, some of which are expected to have torrential downpours. 

This went into effect Sunday morning just before 11:30 a.m. and is expected to remain in effect until midnight. Counties said to be impacted by this include Monroe, Ontario, Livingston, Wayne, Wyoming and Allegany. 

Other impacted counties in the state are Jefferson, Lewis, Northern Cayuga, Oswego, Southern Erie, Cattaraugus, and Chautauqua. 

Urban areas, places with steep terrain, and small streams are most vulnerable to flash flooding, according to the N.W.A.

Read more about this flash flood watch by clicking here.


Copyright 2017 - WHEC-TV, LLC A Hubbard Broadcasting Company

Relay Media Amp

We no longer have Facebook comments on this site. Please visit our Facebook Page to join the conversation.