5 Democrats to fill Rochester City Council seats

[anvplayer video=”5067801″ station=”998131″]

ROCHESTER, N.Y. (WHEC) — Five Democrats have been elected or re-elected to Rochester City Council.

Five seats were available, as City Council President Loretta Scott is retiring and Malik Evans assumed the title of Rochester’s Mayor-Elect Tuesday night after defeating incumbent Lovely Warren in the June primary.

Kim Smith, Miguel Melendez Jr., Stanley Martin, Mitch Gruber and Willie Lightfoot, all Democrats, will be filling those seats.

On the Republican ticket, Ann Lewis, Marcus Williams and Jayvon Johnson were running.

Victor Sanchez, Jasmin Reggler and Antonia Wynter also ran on the Working Families Party line.

As of 7 p.m. on Tuesday, out of the 12,680 absentee ballots sent out, 6,951, or 54.8%, were returned.

Click here to see the results as they come in.