Bills’ Allen named finalist for Art Rooney Sportsmanship Award

ORCHARD PARK, N.Y. (WHEC) — Allen was one of eight finalists for the prestigious award given to the NFL player who most exemplifies fair play, sportsmanship, and integrity on and off the field.

A panel of former NFL players and coaches chose the eight finalists, which includes Josh Allen. The other seven are Brandin Cooks (Houston), Jason McCourty (Miami), Matthew Slater (New England), Lavonte David (Tampa Bay), Cameron Jordan (New Orleans), Kyle Juszczyk (San Francisco), and Adam Thielen (Minnesota).

The award was created in 2014 in honor of Art Rooney, the late Pittsburgh Steelers owner and NFL Hall of Famer.

The winner of the award is done by a vote of current NFLers. From the eight finalists vying for the award, each team’s players submit a consesus vote for their choice. They cannot vote for its own player.

The winner will be announced on Feb. 10.