Good Question: Why is Florida still on the NY travel advisory?

[anvplayer video=”4964643″ station=”998131″]

ROCHESTER, N.Y. (WHEC) — Gov. Andrew Cuomo is expected to announce the latest additions and eliminations to New York state’s travel advisory on Tuesday.

As states continue to be added and dropped from the list every week, several viewers have asked about one state in particular: Florida. Why is it still on the list?

Things are getting better in the Sunshine State with the most recent numbers from showing the positive rate on tests anywhere between 5% to 8% going back for more than a week.

"The percent of positive results ranged from 5.16% to 8.13% over the past 2 weeks and was 6.23% yesterday [Sunday]," the Florida Department of Health stated.

That’s supposed to be good enough for New York’s cap of 10%.

The issue is that the travel advisory also requires a state to stay below 10 cases per 100,000 people on a 7-day rolling average, and Florida still is not below that threshold.

Arizona, Minnesota, Nevada, Rhode Island, and Wyoming were added to the list Tuesday.

The following 35 states and territories are on the updated travel advisory:

  • Alabama
  • Alaska
  • Arizona
  • Arkansas
  • Delaware
  • Florida
  • Georgia
  • Guam
  • Idaho
  • Illinois
  • Indiana
  • Iowa
  • Kansas
  • Kentucky
  • Louisiana
  • Minnesota
  • Mississippi
  • Missouri
  • Montana
  • Nebraska
  • Nevada
  • North Carolina
  • North Dakota
  • Oklahoma
  • Puerto Rico
  • Rhode Island
  • South Carolina
  • South Dakota
  • Tennessee
  • Texas
  • Utah
  • Virginia
  • West Virginia
  • Wisconsin
  • Wyoming

Travelers coming to New York from any of the states and territories on the list will need to quarantine for 14 days.

If you have a question you want News10NBC to answer, email