RCSD recognizes scholars for Black History Month

[anvplayer video=”5090562″ station=”998131″]

ROCHESTER, N.Y. (WHEC) — The Rochester City School District held its 33rd Annual Black History Month Celebration over Zoom Thursday night.

Each year, the district and board of education recognize black scholars with an average GPA of 4.0 or higher.

The following students were honored:

East High School
Johnique Brock
Taiasia Gibson
Six Williams

Edison Career & Technology High School
Shawnique Hagan

James Monroe High School
Khadeja Thomas

The Leadership Academy for Young Men
Avant Donaldson

Northeast College Preparatory High School
Randel Clarke
Elexis McGee

Rochester Early College International High School
Macca Abdi
Tyla Burke
Shyann Ginnis
Breanna Majors-Brown
Ashanti Simmons
Farha Tia
Tiketa Thomas
Kadejah Watson
Anjanae’ Wilson
Bethany Wynn

School of the Arts
Akirah Johnson
Aiquana Maye
Sadia Muhammad
Elani Spencer
Enyia Taylor
Jayden Wahl
Simone Walden
Saphyre Watson
Tianna Williams

School Without Walls
A’Niyah Bullard-Smith

Joseph C. Wilson Commencement Academy High School
Douglas Bell Freitag
Cassidy Flowers
Masengesho Irasubiza
Clementine Kashindi
Justin Roberts

World of Inquiry School No. 58
Tylynn Davidson
Ramon Gibson
Aaniyah Simmons
Xavier Wiggins

Jacqueline Dozier was the 2022 Community Award recipient.