RIT men’s lacrosse repeats as Division III national champions

[anvplayer video=”5112556″ station=”998131″]

EAST HARTFORD, CT (WHEC) — The RIT Tigers are winners of the 2022 Division III men’s lacrosse national championship after defeating Union (NY), 12-10.

RIT, who was 21-1 heading into the game, fell behind 7-2 in the first half. The Tigers were able to go on a 10-3 run to comeback and defeat the Dutchmen. It’s the second title in program history and second in a row after they upended Salisbury, 15-14 in 2OT last year.

John Mozrall helped lead the comeback, scoring the last two goals of the first half to cut it to a 7-4 deficit. RIT proceeded to score six more unanswered, part of an 8-0 run. Quinn Commandant scored the game tying goal and the goal to give the Tigers their first lead of the game. They didn’t look back from there until the final whistle.

Commandant led the Tigers with three goals. Peter Burnes notched two goals and two assists for the Dutchmen, who were held silent for much of the second half. RIT goalkeeper Drew Hutchison finished with 16 saves.

Stay tuned for full highlights of the game on News10NBC at 6 p.m.