State funding available for communities affected by Tropical Storm Fred

ROCHESTER, N.Y. (WHEC) — The state announced Friday that $4.4 million would be available for communities impacted by Tropical Storm Fred back in August 2021.

The money is for the following counties: Allegany, Cayuga, Cortland, Lewis, Oneida, Onondaga, Steuben, Tioga and Yates.

Applications can be made through June 1, 2022, and can be used to cover up to 75% of costs of mitigation projects to reduce the impact of future extreme weather.

News10NBC reported on the extensive damage in Steuben and Yates counties by heavy rains and flooding. Previously, the state had made available grants to homeowners.