Cuomo adds 4 states, removes 1 from restricted travel advisory list

Updated: July 14, 2020 05:27 PM
Created: July 14, 2020 11:10 AM

ALBANY, N.Y. (WHEC) — Gov. Andrew Cuomo has added four additional states to the list of restricted travel advisory locations and removed one.

On Tuesday, the governor added: Minnesota, New Mexico, Ohio and Wisconsin, but removed Delaware.


There are now 22 states on the advisory list, just shy of half the country.

On Monday, the governor issued an emergency health order, calling for out-of-state travelers from places with high COVID-19 rates to also provide their contact information before arriving in New York State.  

People traveling to New York state from these states are required to quarantine for 14 days as a precautionary measure, regardless of whether or not they’ve tested positive for COVID-19.

The full list of states on the governor’s travel advisory list is below:

  • Alabama
  • Arkansas
  • Arizona
  • California
  • Florida
  • Georgia
  • Iowa
  • Idaho
  • Kansas
  • Louisiana
  • Minnesota
  • Mississippi
  • Nevada
  • New Mexico
  • North Carolina
  • Ohio
  • Oklahoma
  • South Carolina
  • Tennessee
  • Texas
  • Utah
  • Wisconsin

This list is updated on a weekly basis, depending on states' rates of infection. 

Copyright 2020 - WHEC-TV, LLC A Hubbard Broadcasting Company

Comment on Facebook