Cuomo adds Rhode Island to quarantine list, removes Delaware, DC

Updated: August 04, 2020 05:41 PM
Created: August 04, 2020 11:08 AM

ROCHESTER, N.Y. (WHEC) — Travelers from 34 states plus Puerto Rico will now have to self-quarantine for 14 days when arriving in New York state, Gov. Andrew Cuomo announced Tuesday.

New York added Rhode Island to the list and removed Delaware and Washington D.C. 


The quarantine list now includes Alabama, Alaska, Arkansas, Arizona, California, Florida, Georgia, Illinois, Indiana, Iowa, Idaho, Kansas, Kentucky, Louisiana, Maryland, Minnesota, Mississippi, Missouri, Montana, Nebraska, North Dakota, North Carolina, New Mexico, Nevada, Ohio, Oklahoma, Puerto Rico, Rhode Island, South Carolina, Tennessee, Texas, Utah, Virginia, Washington, and Wisconsin.

The self-quarantine applies to any state with a positive coronavirus testing rate higher than 10 people per 100,000 residents or with an overall positive rate of 10% or higher, both based on seven-day rolling averages.

Travelers from areas deemed hotspots must also fill out a form with their contact information before they leave the airport. Failure to submit the form could result in a $2,000 fine.

Copyright 2020 - WHEC-TV, LLC A Hubbard Broadcasting Company

Comment on Facebook