Cuomo orders travelers from states with high number of COVID-19 cases to provide contact info

Updated: July 13, 2020 09:59 PM
Created: July 13, 2020 12:18 PM

ROCHESTER, N.Y. (WHEC) — Gov. Andrew Cuomo issued an emergency health order Monday, calling for out-of-state travelers from places with high COVID-19 rates to provide contact information before arriving in New York state. 

The order will apply to travelers from states on New York’s quarantine list, which currently includes 19 states. Travelers arriving in New York from any of those states will have to fill out a form detailing their contact information, where they came from and where they’re going.


“You must give officials at the airport your form as to where you came from and where you’re going before you leave the airport,” Cuomo said. "It will be enforced at every airport in the state of New York."

If a traveler leaves the airport without providing the required information, they’ll face a $2,000 fine and a court summons. A court could ultimately order the traveler to complete a mandatory quarantine, the governor said.

The current states on the quarantine list are: Alabama, Arkansas, Arizona, California, Delaware, Florida, Georgia, Iowa, Idaho, Kansas, Louisiana, Mississippi, North Carolina, Nevada, Oklahoma, South Carolina, Tennessee, Texas and Utah.

Copyright 2020 - WHEC-TV, LLC A Hubbard Broadcasting Company

Comment on Facebook