RESULTS: New York Congressional primaries or special elections

ROCHESTER, N.Y. (WHEC) — The results are in for the second NY State Primary held on Tuesday. We now know the winners of four Congressional races in western NY.

For full election results on NBC, click here. For results posted on the NYS elections website, click here.

The Primary was moved to August 23 because a judge ruled that New York’s Congressional and State District maps had to be redrawn, as the old version heavily favored Democrats.

23rd Congressional District Special Election: In the Buffalo area, there were two races in the 23rd Congressional District. That’s because former Republican congressman Tom Reed resigned from this district earlier this year. The special election decided that Republican Joseph Sempolinski will serve in Congress for about four months, until the November General Election decides on a new congressional representative.

Max H. Della Pia (Democrat)

% – 46.37 %
Votes – 34,001

Joseph Sempolinski (Republican)

% – 52.84 %
Votes – 38,749

Republican Primary: 23rd Congressional District Special: Joseph Sempolinski is not running in the General Election. After the Republican primary, Nick Langworthy became the candidate for November. He will face Max Della Pia, who was chosen as the Democratic candidate in the General Election as well as Tuesday’s special election. Langworthy is New York’s Republican party chairman. Paladino is a Buffalo businessman who ran for governor in 2010 but lost to Andrew Cuomo.

Carl P. Paladino
% – 46.93 %
Votes – 22,283

Nick Langworthy
% – 51.13 %
Votes – 24,275

Republican Primary: 24th Congressional District: Claudia Tenney became the Republican candidate for the 24th Congressional District. The newly drawn district covers all or part of Livingston, Ontario, Wayne, Yates, Seneca, Genesee, Wyoming, and Orleans counties.

Claudia Tenney

% – 53.43 %
Votes – 17,277

Mario Fratto

% – 40.17%
Votes – 12,988

George K. Phillips

% – 5.85 %
Votes – 1,891

Special Election: 19th Congressional District: This is the seat left vacant by former congressman Antonio Delgado, who left to serve as Lieutenant governor to Kathy Hochul.

Pat Ryan

% – 51.07 %
Votes – 65,943

Marcus Molinaro

% – 48.75 %
Votes – 62,952

There were no Primary races for Monroe County. The General Election is November 8. The state’s first Primary was on June 28, which decided that Gov. Kathy Hochul would be the Democratic candidate for governor and Congressman Lee would be the Republican Candidate.