Cuomo declares state of emergency for 8 counties along Lake Ontario

May 20, 2019 05:30 PM

OLCOTT, N.Y. (WHEC) — The governor of New York has declared a state of emergency for eight counties along the Lake Ontario shoreline. 

Gov. Andrew Cuomo declared a state of emergency for potential flooding in Cayuga, Jefferson, Monroe, Niagara, Orleans, Oswego, St. Lawrence, and Wayne counties. 

Advertisement – Content Continues Below

The order allows state agencies to allocate more resources to help local governments and homeowners in responding to and recovering from the flooding.

The governor has also put 200 members of the New York National Guard on standby to be deployed to any of the eight counties. More than one million sandbags, 20 sandbaggers, hundreds of pumps, and more than 5,000 feet of aquadam have already been deployed to affected communities.

A 5 mph speed limit is now in effect to limit wakes within 1,000 feet of the shoreline. The no-wake zone does not apply to communities along the St. Lawrence River. 


Copyright 2019 - WHEC-TV, LLC A Hubbard Broadcasting Company


We no longer have Facebook comments on this site. Please visit our Facebook Page to join the conversation.