Monroe County added to FEMA disaster declaration for flood damage

Monroe County added to FEMA disaster declaration for flood damage

January 19, 2018 02:48 PM

Monroe and Cayuga counties have been added to the state's disaster declaration for flood damage along the Lake Ontario shoreline.

The disaster declaration is intended to help communities recover from flooding that occurred May 2 through August 6, 2017. 

Advertisement – Content Continues Below

County Executive Cheryl Dinolfo released the following statement after the county was approved by FEMA:

“I am grateful that FEMA today included Monroe County in a Disaster Declaration that will help local governments receive fair funding for costs incurred as a result of significant flooding along Lake Ontario last year. Monroe County worked diligently with our federal, state, and local partners to ensure that our community was ultimately included in this vital declaration and today’s approval is welcome news. I especially want to thank Senator Chuck Schumer and Congressman Chris Collins for their assistance and support and I look forward to continuing to work collaboratively with all stakeholders involved to monitor and react to flooding along the Lake moving forward.” 

Congressman Chris Collins tweeted the news Friday afternoon:

Back in November, the declaration unlocked federal funds for flood-impacted communities along Lake Ontario in six counties -- Jefferson, Niagara, Orleans, Oswego, St. Lawrence, and Wayne counties. 

Funding will be made available to the state as well as local governments in affected areas for emergency work and the repair or replacement of disaster areas. 


Copyright 2018 - WHEC-TV, LLC A Hubbard Broadcasting Company

Relay Media Amp

We no longer have Facebook comments on this site. Please visit our Facebook Page to join the conversation.