Movements to split New York state into 3 regions gain steam

Andrew Hyman
Created: October 03, 2019 07:04 AM

ROCHESTER N.Y. (WHEC) – Could New York state really be split into three parts? Legislation to make the split happen is reportedly gaining some support.

According to Hudson Valley 360, members of the Divide New York State Caucus are going county to county to talk about the bill.

If passed, the state would break off into three self-governing areas:

  • New York - Bronx, Kings, New York, Queens, and Richmond counties 
  • Montauk - Nassau, Suffolk, Rockland, and Westchester counties
  • New Amsterdam - every county north of Westchester County

The bill was first introduced by Republican Assemblyman David DiPietro in April. He started a website dedicated to the movement, complete with a petition.

Right now, the goal is to gain enough support in local towns to force lawmakers to co-sponsor the bill through a clause in New York’s Municipal Home Rule Law

As of now, there has not been any senate committee or floor votes on the bill.

Copyright 2019 - WHEC-TV, LLC A Hubbard Broadcasting Company

Comment on Facebook