National Women’s Hall of Fame holding virtual induction ceremony

National Women’s Hall of Fame holding virtual induction ceremony Photo: News10NBC.

Updated: November 12, 2020 06:59 PM
Created: November 12, 2020 03:25 PM

SENECA FALLS, N.Y. (WHEC) — The National Women’s Hall of Fame (NWHF) is holding a virtual induction ceremony this year.

On Dec. 10, 2020, at 7:30 p.m., the NWHF will honor women posthumously who died before the NWHF was established.

The following women will be inducted:

  • Mary Church Terrell (1863 –1954), a suffragist and civil rights activist, as well as one of the first African-American women to earn a college degree.
  • Henrietta Lacks (1920 – 1951), whose cancer cells are the source of one of the most important cell lines in medical research.
  • Toni Morrison (1931 – 2019), a Nobel Prize and Pulitzer Prize-winning African-American author.
  • Barbara Hillary (1931 – 2019), a nurse and climate activist who was also the first African-American woman on record to reach the North Pole.
  • Barbara Rose Johns Powell (1935 –1991), a civil rights activist and librarian.
  • Aretha Franklin (1942 –2018), a singer whose works include “Respect” and a civil rights activist.

Attending is free though the NWHF says donations are encouraged. Click here to register.

Copyright 2020 - WHEC-TV, LLC A Hubbard Broadcasting Company

Comment on Facebook