State lawmakers push to divide NY into 3 regions

Updated: September 09, 2020 09:26 AM
Created: September 09, 2020 06:43 AM

ROCHESTER, N.Y. (WHEC) — A push to divide New York into three self-governing regions is getting some more support from state lawmakers.

Senate Minority Leader Rob Ortt and Sen. Pam Helming along with Assemblyman Brian Manktelow have signed on as cosponsors of a bill to add the amendment to the state constitution on the November ballot.

The three regions would be called New Amsterdam, Montauk and New York.

We would be a part of the New Amsterdam region. 

The organization behind the movement, Divide New York, says while separate states would be ideal, forming regions through the state would be an easier process.

Copyright 2020 - WHEC-TV, LLC A Hubbard Broadcasting Company

Comment on Facebook