Former Bills Terrell Owens again among hall semifinalists

Former Bills Terrell Owens again among hall semifinalists

November 21, 2017 08:52 PM

CANTON, Ohio (AP) - First-year eligibles Ray Lewis and Randy Moss are among 27 semifinalists for induction into the Pro Football Hall of Fame.

Others in their initial year of eligibility who made this cut are Brian Urlacher, Richard Seymour, Steve Hutchinson and Ronde Barber.

Advertisement – Content Continues Below

Also on the list is former Buffalo Bills Terrell Owens. Owens played one season with the Bills near the end of his career. Owens is second on the all-time list for receiving yards behind Jerry Rice. He's also eighth in receptions and fifth in touchdowns.

Owens spent most of his career with the San Francisco 49ers, but also played for the Eagles, Cowboys and Bengals. Despite his historic accomplishments, Owens missed out on Hall of Fame election in his first year of eligibility.
Four previously eligible players made the semifinals for the first time: LeRoy Butler, Leslie O'Neal, Simeon Rice and Everson Walls. All others on the 2018 list have reached the semifinals in previous years.
Already chosen as finalists are Bobby Beathard as a contributor, and Robert Brazilie and Jerry Kramer as senior candidates.
The election for the class of 2018 will be held Feb. 3, the day before the Super Bowl, in Minneapolis. Induction ceremonies in Canton, Ohio, will be in August.


Associated Press

(Copyright 2017 by The Associated Press. All Rights Reserved.)

Relay Media Amp

We no longer have Facebook comments on this site. Please visit our Facebook Page to join the conversation.